Last Updated date : 2020-05-22


Everybody's blood is red, but it's not all the same. There are TEN blood types, described using the letters A, B, and O. Those letters stand for certain proteins found on the red blood cells. Not everyone has the same proteins.In addition a person's blood has a certain protein called Rh protein. This protein is called "Rh" because scientists found it while studying Rhesus monkeys. If your blood is positive, you have this protein.

People have one of these eight different blood types:

1.A negative
2.A positive
3.B negative
4.B positive
5.O negative
6.O positive
7.AB negative
8.AB positive
9.Bombay O positive
10.Bombay O negative

Blood types are important if a person ever wants to donate blood or needs a blood transfusion. Getting blood of the wrong type can lead to serious complications. That's why hospitals and blood banks are very careful with donated blood and make sure the person gets the right type.

         Disclaimer and Terms of Use                  Content and site maintanied byDrugs Control Department                             Designed And Developed by